LibGuides: Bill of Rights Seminar: Supreme Court

Ebooks and Print Books in our Library Collection

Essential Supreme Court Decisions by John R. Vile
Call Number: (e-book, click on title to read)
ISBN: 9781442225589
Publication Date: 2014-03-20
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by Kermit Hall (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE 342.73 OXF
ISBN: 9780195379396
Publication Date: 2009-03-11
Our Constitution by Donald A. Ritchie; JusticeLearning.org Staff
Call Number: REFERENCE 342.73 RIT
ISBN: 9780195223859
Publication Date: 2006-04-27
A Practical Companion to the Constitution by Jethro K. Lieberman
Call Number: REFERENCE 342.73 LIE
ISBN: 0520212800
Publication Date: 1999-03-10
Scalia by Bruce Allen Murphy
Call Number: 347.73 MUR
ISBN: 9780743296502
Publication Date: 2015-06-30

Click here to view other books on Supreme Court cases.

Websites

Websites with a searchable database

Supreme Court of the Untied States
Find the opinions of the Court by date and case documents by docket number
Oyez
Oyez offers transcripts & audio of trials, case summaries, decision information, and Court opinions. Find cases from an alphabetic listing by year or by issue/topic.
SCOTUS Blog
The official blog of the US Supreme Court. Provides access to an archive of the briefs of merit cases, searchable by month as well as a list of featured petitions
FindLaw
Court opinions are browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and are searchable by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number.

Websites with lists of cases

Supreme Court Landmarks | United States Courts
provides an interactive way to learn about the landmark Supreme Court cases that have shaped history and have an impact on law-abiding citizens today
Supreme Court Review Archives | Cato Institute
view annual review of the most important cases of the Supreme Court directly from Cato Institute website.

(Lucas Library also owns 8 volumes of Cato Supreme Court review, accessible via Proquest Ebook Central. They can be found in Ebook Central. One of the librarians can help you find these.)

Websites - Decisions by Justice

Below are direct links to opinions by specific justices provided by Legal Information Institution (LII) of the Cornell Law School. A link to the list of justices is provided on the bottom of this list.

Below are links to Supreme Court Review, which provides a bio for the justices and their memorable opinions.

Oyez also provides a short biographies of justices from justices that served in the 1700's to present.