Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Reference Databases
These databases contain general reference articles, e-books and primary sources in addition to articles from periodicals across multiple disciplines.
A-Z List of All Databases
List of all online databases that our library subscribes to, listed alphabetically by the database name
Periodicals: Journals, Magazines and Newspapers
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in most disciplines
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Designed for scholarly research, this database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study including STEM, social sciences and humanities. It includes resources from journals, periodicals, reports, books and more including peer-reviewed journal articles. (View list of titles)
Academic Onefile (Gale) Targeted for academic research, this database combines full text for scholarly journals and selected general interest titles from across the disciplines. (View list of titles)
From Our Databases
From the Web
Off-Site Username and Password List
Search patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office and a few other countries. It's easier to search by inventor names such as LaMarcus Thompson.
Depending on your topic, the following websites can be useful
Computer History Museum
Housing a collection of artifacts related to the history of computing, many transcripts of interviews, documents and photographs are available online. Look under Collections and Exhibits tabs to find out what's available online. Some of these are primary sources.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
For e-books, go directly to eBook Central to get the most results using full-text searching. Use filtering options on the left of the search results or use Advance Search to narrow down your search using both the Title field and the Keyword field.
From the Web
Bookshelf - NCBI
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
NASA e-Book Archive
Contains free e-Books from NASA, including titles such as "Dressing for Altitude, U.S. Aviation Pressure Suits."
If you need specific books ordered for your project, let a librarian know ASAP!
But before you request books, please view a preview through Google Books
to make sure that the books you are requesting would be useful for your research.
Follett Destiny: Find books in our library!
Histories of Computing by
Call Number: 004 MAH
Publication Date: 2011-06-20
The Ethics of Invention by
Call Number: 174.96 JAS
Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Hellfire Boys: The Birth of the U.S. Chemical Warfare Service and the Race for the World's Deadliest Weapons by
Call Number: 358.3 EME
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Book Request Form
Is there a book, magazine, or other item you would like to see in the library collection? Let us know!