LibGuides: Modern World History: Environmentalism

Print Books

The Atlas of the Real World: Mapping the Way We Live by Daniel Dorling; Mark Newman; Anna Barford
Call Number: REFERENCE 912.02 DOR
ISBN: 9780500288535
Publication Date: 2010
Cartograms (digitally modified maps) show the impacts of different countries and geographic regions on natural resources, pollution, endangered species, health, economics, employment, and social systems.
Something New Under the Sun: An Environmental History of the Twentieth-Century World by J. R. McNeill
Call Number: 333.7 MCN
ISBN: 9780393321838
Publication Date: 2001
Climate Justice: Hope, Resilience, and the Fight for a Sustainable Future by Mary Robinson
Call Number: RESERVE 363.7 ROB
ISBN: 9781632869289
Publication Date: 2018
Robinson, the first female president of Ireland, describes the worldwide grassroots activism against climate change, led in large part by women.
Dry: Life Without Water by Ehsan Masood (Editor); Daniel Schaffer (Editor); Fred Pearce (Contribution by); Anju Sharma (Contribution by)
Call Number: 304.25 DRY
ISBN: 0674022246
Publication Date: 2006
Women Pioneers for the Environment by Mary Joy Breton
Call Number: 363.7 BRE
ISBN: 9781555533656
Publication Date: 1998
Essays introducing 40 international women environmental activists, and the environmental events that led them to initiate their various ecological campaigns.

"Theorisation of the Various Human Rights Approaches to Environmental Issues"
A helpful chapter from the e-book," Human Rights and the Environment : Philosophical, Theoretical and Legal Perspectives".

Climate Change
from Gale's Global Issues in Context database
Climate Change
from ABC-CLIO's Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database
Environment
A n introductory article outlining the development of environmentalism worldwide, from ABC-CLIO'S "World History: the Modern Era".
Global Warming
from Gale's Global Issues in Context database
Ozone Depletion
from ABC-CLIO's Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database
The Environmental Protection Movement in Modern China
Article from the database, "World History: The Modern Era" from ABC-CLIO.

The Environment & Society Portal
The Environment & Society Portal is "a gateway to open access resources on the human-environment relationship".
Fauna and Flora International
FFI works "on a wide range of conservation issues, from tackling climate change and working with big business to supporting sustainable local livelihoods and building conservation capacity."
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
IUCN is composed of government and civil society organizations to provide the knowledge and tools that enable human progress, economic development and nature conservation to take place together.
Wetlands International
Global not-for-profit organization dedicated to the conservation and restoration of wetlands.

Dian Fossey
Article from the database "World History: The Modern Era", by ABC-CLIO.
Birute Marija Filomena Galdikas
From Gale's Biography in Context
Jane Goodall
A good overview article of Jane Goodall and her work in Tanzania studying chimpanzees. From Gale's "Biography in Context" database.
Wangari Maathai
From the database "World History: The Modern Era" by ABC-CLIO.

Gorillas in the Mist by Dian Fossey
Call Number: 599.88 FOS
ISBN: 0395282179
Publication Date: 1983-08-01
Dian Fossey's memoir describing her 13 years researching the mountain gorillas of Rwanda.
In the Shadow of Man by Jane Goodall
Call Number: 599.88 GOO
ISBN: 0618056769
Publication Date: 2000
The first of Goodall's memoirs, recounting her early years studying Tanzania's chimpanzees.
Unbowed by Wangari Maathai
Call Number: 333.72 MAA
ISBN: 9780307263483
Publication Date: 2006
Dr. Maathai's memoir of her life, including her political activism and the founding of The Green Belt Movement.