Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases on World History
Start with these DATABASES:
Try these DATABASES next:
Databases on US History
Depending on your topic, these databases that cover U.S. History can be useful:
Primary Sources: Print Books
World History in Documents by
Call Number: 909 WOR
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
(Contains primary sources relating to Francisco Madero, Emiliano Zapata, Sun Yat-sen, Lenin, Bolsheviks, Mussolini, Hitler, Peron, Hiroshima, Han Minzhu, Nelson Mandela, Palestine Liberation Organization, Chinua Achebe, Octavio Paz and more)
Dictionary of Historic Documents by
Call Number: REFERENCE 909.01 DIC
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
(Includes treaties, pacts, agreements, doctrines, constitutions and more from various countries. In alphabetic order. Index also available. Use time table if unsure of name.)
Documents in World History : Volume 2 by
Call Number: REFERENCE 909.a DOC v.2
Publication Date: 2008-03-17
(Includes sources on German consumerism, Nazism, Lenin and more)
Databases of Periodicals (Journals and Magazines)
Academic Onefile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Targeted for academic research, this database combines full text for scholarly journals and selected general interest titles from across the disciplines. (View list of titles)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for scholarly research, this database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study including STEM, social sciences and humanities. It includes resources from journals, periodicals, reports, books and more including peer-reviewed journal articles. (View list of titles
Try these next:
Primary Source Websites
Briefing Books | National Security Archive
Each briefing book features an introductory essay, individual document descriptions and more for topics from Coup d'Etat in Chile, Polish Crisis and more.
World Digital Library
Access significant historical documents from all countries and cultures. Browse by place, time, topic, type of item and more.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas, Austin)
A comprehensive collection of historic and current digitized maps. Includes Africa, Asia, Middle East, Europe, and the Americas; country, city and other maps.
Current News Sources
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to American and international newspapers, from the early 1980s through approximately 2018. Coverage varies from newspaper to newspaper.
The New York Times
Create your own account using email invite sent on Sept. 1. If you no longer have the email invite, contact the library and we'll resend it.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal has given students free access during remote learning. Log in using: Username/Email: email@example.com Password: wsj123
The New Yorker Cartoonbank
Along with the illustrations that first appeared in the New Yorker magazine, the online archive holds additional unpublished cartoons - more than 120,000 total!
Off-Site Username and Password List
ProQuest Ebook Central (eBrary): Find e-books here!
Follett Destiny: Find books in our library!