Skip to Main Content

Modern World History: MWH Thesis Research Paper

Suggested Online Databases

Offsite Password List for Databases

Open this list to find the username and password for accessing our SH databases from home

Database Offsite Password List, Sept 2023

Recommended Databases:

World at War (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
(1500 CE ~ Present)
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window

Library Catalog : Print and E-books

Library Catalog

Modern World History Thesis Research Paper : Starting Points

MLA Citations: Noodletools

Noodletools

Databases: introductory articles

"Cold War" overview article, World at War (ABC-CLIO)
"Cold War," overview article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
"The Marshall Plan," overview article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
Also know as the European Recovery Program
"NATO," overview article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
"Warsaw Pact," overview article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
"Non-Aligned Movement," overview article, World History In Context (Gale)
"Alliance for Progress: Cold War." article, World at War (ABC-CLIO)
Article on the US government's program targeting Latin American countries, "a financial aid program devised by the United States in March 1961 to promote social reform in Latin America. "
"[U.S.] Intervention in the Caribbean and Central America," Map, World at War (ABC-CLIO)

E-Book

"Communism: A Very Short Introduction"

Algeria

Belize

Burma (Myanmar)

Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

China

The Congo

Cuba

"Cuba: Cold War" article, World at War (ABC-CLIO)
"Cuba" reference article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
"African-Latin American Relations" article, World History in Context (Gale)
Details Cuba's military presence in Angola in the 1970s
"Cuba: What Everyone Needs to Know", How Did the Revolution Organize Cuban Society, ebook chapter (Proquest)

Cyprus

El Salvador

"El Salvador" article, World at War (ABC-CLIO)
"El Salvador" article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
Note: Open the Table of Contents (to left of the article title), and scroll down to "History". Under "History", select the section, "Independence".
"Augustin Farabundo Marti" biographical article, World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
Article on the Communist leader of the 1932 peasant uprising against the El Salvadoran government
"El Salvadoran Civil War" article, World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)

Ghana

Guatemala

"Guatemalan Intervention: Cold War" article, World at War (ABC-CLIO)
"Jacobo Arbenz," article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
A brief article on the Cold War and Guatemala's president from 1951-54
"Guatemala" reference article (Encyclopedia Britannica)

India

Ireland

Kenya

Malaya (Malaysia)

Morocco

Nigeria

Pakistan

Philippines

Poland

Rhodesia (Zimbabwe)

Sudan

Uganda

Vietnam

"Vietnam War: Cold War" article, World History (ABC-CLIO)
"Vietnam" reference article (Encyclopedia Britannica)
"Ho Chi Minh" biographical article, World at War (ABC-CLIO)
Biographical article on the long-term leader of the Communist anti-colonial movement in Vietnam