Skip to Main Content

Modern World History: Revolutions and Revolutionary Ideas

Welcome! You will use the three databases below to research the historical figure you have chosen for this project. You may also use Wikipedia for background research only.

Noodletools
Cite your sources and organize your notes.
Get help with MLA, APA and Chicago-style citations.

ABC CLIO

World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database with information on topics related to the emergence of the modern world, from 1500 to the present.

Audio availability: Read-aloud option.
Typical length of article: About 1,000 to 1,500 words.
Other features: Links to primary sources.
Citation: Generates MLA style citation; also exports citation info to NoodleTools.

Gale

Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A database covering more than 5,000 significant people from a variety of fields, time periods, and geographic regions.

Audio availability: Read-aloud option (can be set to highlight words and be set to a specific speed).
Typical length of article: Varies widely (100 to 5,000 words).
Other features: Provides biographies from multiple sources; has built-in dictionary.
Citation: Generates MLA style citation; also exports citation info to NoodleTools.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The oldest continuously-published encyclopedia in the world.

Audio availability: Read-aloud option.
Typical length of article: About 3,000 to 4,000 words.
Other features: Can change articles' reading level; has built-in dictionary.
Citation: Generates MLA style citation; does not export citation info to NoodleTools.

Wiki

Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a free online encyclopedia, created and edited by volunteers around the world and hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation. Please use for BACKGROUND RESEARCH ONLY.

Audio availability: First go to print, and then download as a PDF. Use Adobe Acrobat read-aloud feature.
Typical length of article: Varies; is often over 10,000 words.
Other features: Links to many related articles.
Citation: Citation must be created manually.

Off-Campus Access Information

Database Offsite Password List, Sept 2023