LibGuides: Modern World History: Imperialism Debate

Alternate spellings

Chiang Kai-Shek, AKA Chiang Chung-cheng.

Alternate spellings: Chiang Chieh-shih, Jiang Jieshi

Mahatma (Great Soul) Gandhi, AKA Mohandas Gandhi
Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, AKA Mustafa Kemal Pasha, Mustafa Kemal Bey

Alternate spelling: Kamal

Muhhammad Ali Jinnah, AKA Qaid-i-Azam (Great Leader), Baba-i-Qaum (Father of the Nation)

Alternate spellings: Mohammed Ali Jinnah

Soldaderas, AKA Adelitas
Toure, Samori (Samory)

Alternate spellings: Samoray

Primary Source Books - authors by...

Mohandas Gandhi by John Dear (Editor)
Call Number: 954.03 GAN
ISBN: 1570754322
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx; Frederick Engels; Jeffrey C. Isaac (Editor)
Call Number: (e-book, click on title to read)
ISBN: 9780300123012
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith; Kathryn Sutherland (Editor, Introduction by, Notes by)
Call Number: 330.15 SMI
ISBN: 9780199535927
Publication Date: 2008-05-15

Primary Source Books

Books containing sources for a single person/group

King Leopold's Ghost by Adam Hochschild
Call Number: 967.5 HOC
ISBN: 9780395759240
Publication Date: 1998-09-21
The Rights of My People : Liliuokalani's Enduring Battle with the United States 1893-1917 by Neil Thomas Proto
Call Number: (e-book, click on title to read)
ISBN: 9780875867205
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Contains short excerpts from the demurrer and brief of Liliuokalani v United States of America and more.
José Martí : A Revolutionary Life by Alfred J. López
Call Number: (e-book, click on title to read)
ISBN: 9780292739062
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Contains letters written by Jose Marti
A Lifelong Passion: Nicholas & Alexandra, their own story by Sergei Mironenko; Andrei Maylunas (Editor); Darya Galy (Translator)
Call Number: 947.083 NIC
ISBN: 9780385486736
Publication Date: 1997-01-20
Sylvia Pankhurst : A Life in Radical Politics by Mary Davis
Call Number: (e-book, click on title to read)
ISBN: 9780745315232
Publication Date: 1999-09-20
Contains excerpts from her papers
Letters of Queen Victoria, a Selection from Her Majesty's Correspondence Between the Years 1837 and 1861, Published by Authority of His Majesty the King by Queen Of Great Britain 1819-1 Victoria (Created by)
Call Number: 942.081 VIC
Publication Date: 2016-05-01

Books containing sources related to multiple people

Archives of Empire Volume I: From the East India Company to the Suez Canal by Barbara Harlow (Editor); Mia Carter (Abridged by)
Call Number: 909.09 ARC
ISBN: 9780822331643
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Seciton IX is titled "The Indian Uprising/Sepoy Mutiny 1857-1858"
World History in Documents by Peter N. Stearns (Editor)
Call Number: 909 WOR
ISBN: 9780814740484
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Contains primary source documents on Bismarck on pg 238, on Simon Bolivar on pg 239
Sources of the Making of the West, since 1500 by Barbara H. Rosenwein; Bonnie G. Smith; Christopher R. Martin; Katharine J. Lualdi; R. Po-chia Hsia; Lynn Hunt; Thomas R. Martin
Call Number: 909.01 LUA
ISBN: 9780312465186
Publication Date: 2008-02-20
The Western Tradition by Eugen Weber
Call Number: 909.01 WES
ISBN: 9780669201475
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Worlds of History by Kevin Reilly
Call Number: 909.01 WOR
ISBN: 9780312446864
Publication Date: 2007-01-05

Other Books - Secondary Sources

Empress Dowager Cixi by Jung Chang
Call Number: 951.03 CIX
ISBN: 9780307271600
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
The Opium War Through Chinese Eyes by Arthur Waley
Call Number: 951 WAL
ISBN: 9780804706117
Publication Date: 1958-06-01
The Opium War by Julia Lovell
Call Number: 951.03 LOV
ISBN: 9781468308952
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
The Damnable Question: One Hundred and Twenty Years of Anglo-Irish Conflict by George Dangerfield
Call Number: 941.5 DAN
ISBN: 0316172006
Publication Date: 1976-07-01
An excellent source that details the thorny history between Ireland and Great Britain, including in-depth information on the Irish Republican Brotherhood, and its leaders.
Emmeline Pankhurst by Paula Bartley
Call Number: 324.6
ISBN: 9781135120894
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
"In this well-structured, fluent and lively account, [author] Paula Bartley uses new archival material to assess whether Pankhurst should be seen as a heroine or a tyrant, a conservative or a progressive."
Queen Victoria: Born to Succeed by Elizabeth Longford
Call Number: 942.081 VIC
Publication Date: 1964
Contains quotes and excerpts from her letters

Soldaderas in the Mexican Military: Myth and History By Elizabeth Salas
This is a full text e-book, available on Google Scholar, in pdf format. Keyword search using "soldaderas" results include good information on nine individual, historical soldaderas who fought during the Mexican Revolution.

The Women's Revolution in Mexico, 1910-1953 by Stephanie Mitchell (Editor); Patience A. Schell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780742537316
Publication Date: 2006

Primary Sources from Library's Online Databases and Other Online Sources

A-E

Addams, Jane

"Democracy or Militarism", Chicago (1899)
Addams' seminal speech before the Chicago Liberty Meeting, April 30, 1899. In this address, written in response to the Spanish-American War, she argues that accepting military actions as a sanctioned part of international politics is to normalize violence, and makes further violence acceptable.

Alexandra, Czarina/Tzarina (Empress) of Russia

Letters of the Empress Alexandra Feodorovna to Emperor Nicholas II (volume 1)
(English translation starts on page 377, click on full text under download options to get the searchable version)
Published in 1922, available on the Internet Archive, made available by University of Toronto
Letters of the Empress Alexandra Feodorovna to Emperor Nicholas II (volume 2)
(English translation starts on page 275, click on full text under download options to get the searchable version)
Published in 1922, available on the Internet Archive, made available by University of Toronto

Baden-Powell, Robert

Robert Baden-Powell: "The Most Impressive Sight I Ever Saw" (1914)
This article by Baden-Powell first was first published in "The Strand" magazine, in 1914.

Bismarck, Otto von

Excerpt from Bismarck's "Blood and Iron" Speech (1862)
(on German History in Documents and Images)

Boxers from the Boxer Rebellion

Two Heroes of Cathay: An Autobiography and a Sketch
Two young Chinese Christian men who survived the Boxer Rebellion describe their experiences of daily life and the atmosphere leading up to the bloodshed. SEE pages 63-65 and page 66

Carnegie, Andrew

The Gospel of Wealth, and Other Timely Essays
by Andrew Carnegie, published in 1900, made available on the Internet Archive by Cornell University Library
(includes his essay titled Americanism versus Imperialism)

Churchill, Winston

Winston Churchill: The River War (1898)
A primary source document from ABC-CLIO's World History Modern Era database

Cixi, Empress Dowager

China under the Empress Dowager, being the history of the life and times of Tzu Hsi.
(contains decrees issued by/recording conversations of Cixi)
Compiled from state papers and the private diary of the comptroller of her household by her household by John O. P. Bland and Edmund Backhouse, published in 1910, made available on the Internet Archive by Toronto University

Engels, Frederick

Marxist Internet Archive - Marx Engels Archive
Contains letters and works by Marx and Engels
(Note that Marxist Internet Archive is maintained by volunteers)

F-L

Hobson, John

John A. Hobson: Imperialism (1902)
An excerpt from Hobson's book Imperialism from ABC-CLIO's World History Modern Era database

Indian National Congress, Leaders of

The Indian National Congress
(Containing an account of its origin and growth, full text of all the presidential addresses, reprint of all the Congress resolutions, extracts from all the welcome addresses, notable utterances on the movement, portraits of all the Congress presidents)
published [1909], made available by University of California Libraries on the Internet Archive
Internet History Sourcebook: Indian Nationalism
Contains links to *Bal Gangadhar Tilak's address to the Indian National Congress in 1907 and *Mohandas K. Gandhi's letters.

Irish Republican Brotherhood, including leaders Tom Clarke, Michael Collins, Patrick Pearse

"Glimpses of an Irish Felon's Prison Life", by Tom Clarke (1922)
Clarke's memoir of his fifteen years in British prisons, written after his prison release, but published after his execution for his part in the 1916 Easter Rebellion.
Irish Republican Brotherhood: Proclamation (1916)
A primary source document from ABC-CLIO's World History Modern Era database
O'Donovan Rossa Graveside Panegyric
This powerful speech, given by Irish Republican Brotherhood leader Patrick Pearse, "...continued to project the spirit of Fenian [Irish] revolution long after the event itself on 1 August 1915."

Juarez, Benito

The presidency of Mexico : Protest of General Jesus Gonzales Ortega against the decrees of Senor Benito Juarez, ex-president of the Mexican Republic (issued 1865)
(Contains decrees issued by Benito Juarez)
Published 1866, available on the Internet Archive, made available by the Library of Congress

Kipling, Rudyard

Modern History Sourcebook: Rudyard Kipling, The White Man's Burden, 1899

Leopold II, King of Belgium

Berlin Conference General Act (1885)
From the online database "World History: The Modern Era", these excerpts from the "Berlin Conference General Act" of 1885, describe how the conference's purpose "was to provide for a peaceful division of Africa to the various [European] powers seeking colonial possessions on the continent, focusing particularly on the Congo River Basin in Central Africa."
"King Leopold II of Belgium Establishes the Congo Free State"
In this article from Gale's Global Events: "Milestone Events Throughout History", there are quotes from Henry Stanley, Leopold's official African explorer, regarding Leopold's intent in Africa and the Congo.

Lin Zexu

A Letter to Queen Victoria (from Lin Zexu)
A primary source document from Gale's World History in Context database

M-S

Marx, Karl

Engels' Speech at Karl Marx's Graveside (1883)
Close friend and associate Friedrich Engels delivered this address at Marx's graveside, two days after Marx died.

Meiji, Emperor of Japan

The Constitution of the Empire of Japan (1889) - Meiji Constitution
From Hirobumi Ito, Commentaries on the constitution of the empire of Japan,
trans. Miyoji Ito (Tokyo: Igirisu-horitsu gakko, 22nd year of Meiji,1889)
Hanover Historical Texts Project
Scanned by Jonathan Dresner, Harvard University.

Nicholas II, Czar/Tsar (Emperor) of Russia

October Manifesto (1905)
A primary source document from ABC-CIO's World at War database
Nicholas II: abdication (1917)
A primary source document from ABC-CIO's World at War database

Rhodes, Cecil

Cecil Rhodes; his political life and speeches, 1881-1900
by Verschoyle, F, published in 1900, made available on the Internet Archive by University of Toronto

Roosevelt, Theodore

Roosevelt's Corollary to the Monroe Doctrine, 1905
A transcript of Theodore Roosevelt's "Corollary to the Monroe Doctrine," embedded within his Annual Message to Congress, December 6, 1904,.

S-Z

Sepoy from India

Indian Mutiny: account of the mutiny in Meerut (1857)
A primary source document from ABC-CLIO's World History Modern Era database
Mutiny at the Margins - The Indian Uprising of 1857
The Texts section provides links to primary sources related to the mutiny

Spencer, Herbert

Facts and comments
by Spencer, Herbert, published in 1902, made available on the Internet Archive by University of California Libraries

Twain, Mark

American Anti-Imperialist League Platform (1899)
A primary source document from ABC-CLIO's World History Modern Era database
"An Answer to Mark Twain"
This booklet was printed in Belgium, by supporters of King Leopold's Congo Free State. The authors offer a brief retort to Twain's "King Leopold's Soliloquy", a criticism by Twain of the Belgium monarch's brutal policies in the Belgian Congo, and also against his support of the Congo Reform Association.
"King Leopold's Soliloquy", Mark Twain, 1905
This is a PDF version of Twain's original satirical pamphlet on Belgium's atrocities in the Congo.
"King Leopold's Soliloquy", Mark Twain, 1905
A text-based version of Twain's 1905 pamphlet, this digitized version is easier to read than the PDF link, and includes the original photos and illustrations. Published by a professor at Michigan State University.

Victoria, Queen of Britain

Further Letters Of Queen Victoria
by Hector Bolitho, published in 1938, book source from Digital Library of India Item 2015.172655
Letters date from 1841-1889

Williams, George Washington

George Washington Williams's Open Letter to King Leopold on the Congo, 1890